Functions of the EU – European parliament


The European Parliament is made up of 705 deputies elected by direct universal suffrage. New deputies are elected every five years. Each country has a minimum of 6 seats in the European Parliament and a maximum of 96 seats, which represents approximately 360 million registered voters.

The deputies in the Parliament are divided into 28 different committees, this is done in order to prepare the plenary sessions of the Parliament.

The deputies always sit in political groups. They are not organized by nationality but according to their political affinities. As a result, there are 8 groups. An example is the RCT, which represents European conservatives and reformists.

The 45 delegations maintain and develop relations with the parliaments of third countries.

The Parliament is found in Strasbourg, where most of the plenary sessions take place. The parliamentary committees usually meet in Brussels.

The Parliament also gives its approval to international treaties, such as the Free Trade Agreement between the European Union and Canada. It also has a permanent representation in each Member State where each political group has offices. In France, there are two: one in Paris and another in Marseille.

The Parliament holds the role of democratic control and oversight. They have the power of questioning the Council and Commission. In addition, they can censure the Commission. 

Next: European commission – Ayaan MEKRANI S5ENA